gojobirdie

I am a sewaholic

Lillian Blouse. BurdaStyle Vintage Modern.

on September 12, 2013

ImageI thought this would be a relatively straightforward project – and it was apart from the collar.  The drafting measurements for the collar need to be taken from the constructed front and back and not directly from the pattern pieces. 

I think the end result does look like the photo original, but I am unable to tuck in my version as the front and back pieces are way too short.  Nevermind it is wearable as is, but if I am to make another it will need to be lengthened somewhat.

 

Even though the recommended fabric was for a voile, it seemed to work fine with a crisper cotton poplin and broderie anglaise lace insert.

 

This is my first construction from this book – I think I will give other patterns a go after this attempt.  This is really a muslin – but a wearable one!  I do find Burda sizing a bit unreliable sometimes!!

 

I have had a semi-succesful sewing time as of late. – a blouse that is way to “bomfey” for me, and a dress that makes me feel a bit matronly.  I did have success with one dress – finally making up something I purchased from Mood in NYC.  I have been a bit reluctant with this stash – maybe it is because I live so far away (10,000 miles or so), and I want to make sure that I use my fabric wisely.  I will post Photos of these other garments later.

 

I have tidied up my sewing area, and as a reward to myself have downloaded a nice little shirt drew pattern, which I may or may not cut out this afternoon.  Otherwise it will wait until next week.

Leave a Reply

